Board of Directors

OPHA’s unique governance system includes the Board of Directors, bylaws and policies that help in decision making and render accountability. We are unique in having a large Board of Directors which includes representatives from our constituent societies, each of whom has a vote on the Board.

OPHA is a member-driven organization. Any member in good standing is entitled to participate in the governance of the Association by attending OPHA meetings, running for a position on the Board of Directors, participating in and voting at the Annual General Meeting, submitting position papers to Membership for approval, participating in any OPHA workgroup, writing advocacy letters on behalf of OPHA, and much more.

2023/24 OPHA Board of Directors 

The Board of Directors is the governing body of the OPHA ‚ÄĒ a voluntary association of individuals and Constituent Societies from various sectors and disciplines who have an interest in promoting and optimizing the health of the people of Ontario. The Board of Directors is responsible for managing the affairs of the OPHA according to bylaws and a strategic plan approved through voting by the membership.


Kevin Churchill

Vice President

Julia Roitenberg


Kirsten Woodend


Dr. Anthony Lombardo


Helen Doyle
Dr. Cindy Sinclair
Dr. Faiza Waheed
Elena Hasheminejad
Jacob Shelley

2023/24 Constituent Society Representatives

Alliance for Healthier Communities 

Kirsten Woodend

Association of Supervisors of Public Health Inspectors of Ontario

Jon Groulx

Canadian Institute Of Public Health Inspectors РOntario 

John Canaan

Community Health Nurses’ Initiatives Group – Registered Nurses’ Association of Ontario¬†

Pam Stuckles

Ontario Association of Public Health Nursing Leaders (OPHNL)

David Groulx

Ontario Public Health Libraries Association (OPHLA)

Rebecca Strange