

OPHA is pleased to announce the winners of the following awards, presented at the 2010 OPHA Fall Forum on September 28th, 2010 at the Courtyard by Marriott in Toronto.

Dr. Sheela Basrur Scholarship

Theresa Marentette is the recipient of the Dr. Sheela Basrur Scholarship. Theresa is currently enrolled in the M.Sc (nursing) program at the University of Windsor. With more than 20 years of experience in Public Health, she has worked in many program areas of the Windsor-Essex County Health Unit and has been a Program Manager in Sexual Health, Dental Health and currently Comprehensive School Health. She has demonstrated leadership in her partnerships with several local initiatives related to childhood obesity, injury prevention, and sexual health.

OPHA Community Partner Award

OPHA is pleased to announce that the **Ontario Neurotrama Foundation** (ONF) is the recipient of the OPHA Award for Community Partner. ONF has provided critical and ongoing support for the Ontario Public Health Injury Prevention Managers Alliance, in partnership with the Ontario Public Health Association and the Ontario Ministry of Health Promotion. Since 2007, the ONF has worked with the Alliance to bring research evidence into practice at the local level. ONF has supported the Alliance in coordinated planning to meet the Ontario Public Health Standards, communication with relevant stakeholders, knowledge exchange, training, and partnership building.

OPHA Award of Excellence

Dr. Angela Cooper Brathwaite, the recipient of the OPHA Award of Excellence, has demonstrated leadership in Public Health. She has been a Program Manager of the Prevention of Injury & Substance Misuse Program at Durham Region Health Department and has significantly contributed to nursing practice and policy advocacy in Public Health.

The Honorary Membership Award

This award is conferred at the discretion of the Board of Directors and was not presented in 2010.

The Life Membership Award

This award is conferred at the discretion of the Board of Directors and was not presented in 2010.